Dark Miso Broth and “The Kitchen Diaries”

The Kitchen Diaries by Nigel Slater

The Kitchen Diaries by Nigel Slater

After some time away from the kitchen, I have returned with a sprit of  spirit in my soul and a small spring in my step.  I have found that gleaning inspiration from cookbooks is the best way to get recharged, but for a week or so that really hasn’t happened.  I’m chalking it up to overeating, and not always the good stuff.  Not only is it difficult to maintain an appetite when you feel full, it’s equally hard to be an inspired cook when you’re already stuffed.  The great American battle with food and quantity.  But…

Today I bring you a dark miso broth.  I have discovered that “The Kitchen Diaries” by Nigel Slater is a fun book to flip through, jumping to a different month, or just flipping through to a ‘Mmm, that look’s good!’ photograph.  Inspired by the rich looking soup from that book, I wanted to use a heartier stock, with less components in the soup; something you could use as a first course or light lunch.  The photo below is from that book.

I have not included a photo of the miso broth I made because I’m sure you can imagine what chopped celery and wide noodles look like in a beef broth.  Also, Owen (my teenage son) and I ate most of it before I thought to take a photo- the aroma was making us hungry.  It turned out quite tasty, enjoy!

DARK MISO BROTH

3 cups beef stock

2 handfuls of roughly chopped celery

4 roasted garlic cloves

2 tablespoons miso paste

dash of soy sauce

pinch of celery seed

fresh ground pepper

small portion of wide noodles (I used linguine and broke the noodles in half)

1 cup of water

Bring the beef broth to a simmer in a medium size pan while you rinse and chop the celery.  Drop in the celery.  When the stock is simmering nicely spoon in the miso paste and stir slowly to dissolve. Add the soy sauce, fresh pepper and celery seed.  Add some of the water and the noodles and keep the broth simmering, stirring gently.  Taste and add water as necessary.  This should be a bold but thin broth.  Remember not to add salt, there’s plenty of sodium in the miso paste!

When the noodles are done and you can’t stop yourself because of the fragrance, tuck in! ~TH~

Nigel Slater's Miso Soup

Nigel Slater’s Miso Soup

2 thoughts on “Dark Miso Broth and “The Kitchen Diaries”

Leave a Reply

