Tom’s Winter Rum Toddy

Tom's Winter Rum Toddy

Tom’s Winter Rum Toddy

Here’s a delightful way to enjoy some nice rum during the cold days of winter.  Most folks think of rum in tasty cool frozen drinks enjoyed at the Tiki Bar on a hot summer day… me included!  Today I spotted a wonderful (unopened) aged rum in the cabinet.  I was already chilly so I certainly wasn’t interested in an iced drink.  Then I remembered the wonders of simple syrup.  I wanted to concoct a warm ‘toddy for the body’ that was sweet and fragrant.  I succeeded.  I really recommend an aged, non-spiced rum for this; splurge a little, you deserve it.  Enjoy!

TOM’S WINTER RUM TODDY

1 cup of water

1/3 cup maple syrup

zest of 1/2 a clean lime

juice from the fresh lime

good quality aged Rum

Put the water into a small sauce pan over medium heat.  Stir in the maple syrup until dissolved (no need to boil since the sugar in this case is already liquid).  Once the simple syrup is warm remove from heat and grate the lime zest into the syrup.  Squeeze lime juice in as well, and let a little tasty pulp into the mix as well. —  Pour rum into a small carafe and top with the warm syrup, shake lightly to mix.  1/3 rum, 2/3 syrup if you need to function more during the day.  1/2 rum 1/2 syrup if you’re home for the rest of the day (no driving please).

Serve in small apertif size glasses.  Keep remaining syrup in the fridge for up to 2 additional days.  ~TH~

8 thoughts on “Tom’s Winter Rum Toddy

    • Hi eM!! Glad to see you made your way over to my other blog, welcome!

      I always equated a ‘toddy’ as an alcoholic drink served warm since that’s the type of drink I always saw in recipes using the term. To my amazement the term does not appear in my favorite bar guide, the 1947 book “Trader Vic’s Bartender’s Guide”. This is a delightful book if you have any interest in the history of contemporary spirits (I just noticed that our hard copy was purchased for 3 bucks, probably at a garage sale).

      Wikipedia dscribes a hot toddy as “typically a mixed drink made of liquor and water with sugar and spices and served hot. Hot Toddy recipes vary and are traditionally drunk before going to bed, or in wet or cold weather”. Wikipedia goes on to say: “It has been suggested that the name comes from the toddy drink in India… “.

      I’m glad you asked, I’m vindicated on all counts! Love hearing from you and I’m enjoying your blog as well, see you ’round the inter-webs! ~TH~

    • Oops- the peppermint fizzy. Before consulting TRADER VIC I’ll venture a guess that any ‘fizzy’ includes soda water in the recipe. Please hold…

      Indeed, according to The ‘Trader Vic’s Bartender’s Guide’ “The fizz is an early morning drink with a definite purpose- a panacea for hang-overs. Generally contrived from liquor, citrus fruit juices and sugar shaken with ice and strained into a tall glass or goblet, the Fizz gets it’s name from the addition of fizz water, usually seltzer or club soda”. T.V. is silent on the specific ‘peppermint fizzy’ as I would expect.

      Googling “Peppermit Fizz’ I find that Peppermint Fizz is a cute little character from the Strawberry Shortcake cartoon, I’m almost certain that’s not what we’re looking for.

      Googling ‘cocktail peppermint fizz’ brings us this from the whattodrink.com website:

      1.25 oz. Brandy
      .50 oz. Peppermint Schnapps
      2 oz. Lemon juice

      Shake with ice and serve in a tall glass. Top with club soda and garnish with a mint leaf.

      Sounds like one of those drimks you’d only have one of… and then you may need to brush your teeth. And I’m 2 for 2! Cheers! ~TH~

  1. That makes sense. I read that term, “peppermint fizzy” long ago when a university professor wrote a comment on a paper of mine. I suppose he must have known how passionate I was about my thesis and how hard I’d researched and worked. He concluded that I needed to settle down and have a peppermint fizzy—and then punctuated that comment with a well-deserved A. So I guess he thought I deserved a research hangover panacea. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

