The Royal Taster

Image

A wonderful cooking tip that I hear again and again from great home chefs (and professionals) is to taste as you go.  It’s not a difficult thing to do, but I’ve come to realize that it’s a habit that needs to be instituted.  If you (like me) tend to slavishly follow a recipe, you’re missing out on a wonderful opportunity to enhance your food in a way that’s more appealing to your family.

I now use a cute little ‘snack bowl’ as a taster (click the link to see it in the catalog; from Crate&Barrel).  The food cools quickly in the small dish (no burned lips please!), and it has a small handle to, well, handle it.  With soups I can dip it in and set it aside for 20 seconds as I stir the soup, then it’s cool enough for tasting.

I always set one out as I cook- when I see it, it reminds me; don’t forget to taste as you go!  ~TH~

One thought on “The Royal Taster

Leave a Reply

