The yumminess of Walnut Oil – easy vege marinade

Greetings intrepid eater!

I was working on the computer this morning- frantically updating files, folders, web pages and accounts.  Eyes began to blur, shoulders began to ache.  Tummy beginning to rumble — time for a snack break!

walnut oil

walnut oil

There were two slices of Wegman’s cheese bread left, so I spooned the leftover veges onto a slice and used the bread to soak up some of the marinade.  This is a great vege to serve as a side dish and to use in sandwiches. The secret?  Walnut oil.  I purchased it at our local mom-and-pop grocer Frankie And May.  Here’s how I made the marinade-

  • fresh grape (cherry) tomatoes
  • 1 fresh red bell pepper
  • 1 small zucchini
  • 1 medium size onion
  • herbs de provence
  • walnut oil
  • olive oil
  • wine vinegar (or your favorite vinegar)
  • sea salt, fresh ground pepper

Wash the veges, then slice and dice  them into a bowl – be sure to cut each small tomato in half (make the onion dice small so it doesn’t overpower the other veges).  In another bowl combine a small amount of walnut oil with some olive oil and vinegar.  I do this separately because I don’t want the walnut oil to overpower the veges.  Whisk the marinade well and smell.  If it’s too “nutty”, add a bit more olive oil/vinegar.  Then add the herbs, S & P.  Smell- when it has a nice hint of walnut, pour over the veges and mix well.  Cover and put in the fridge for at least one hour.

This gets really tasty as hours turn to days.  The sandwich I just enjoyed cleaned up the vege marinade from 2 days ago.  ~TH~

6 thoughts on “The yumminess of Walnut Oil – easy vege marinade

  1. Hello I am so grateful I found your website, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks
    for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do
    keep up the great jo.

Leave a Reply

