Satay Sans Skewers

This week I purchased yet another package of boneless chicken thighs, having no idea what I was going to do with them.  I’m always up for chicken.  The pack sat for 2 days in the fridge, then it hit me… satay.  I’ve never made satay- a marvelous grilled skewer of tasty Thai goodness.  It helps that I like yogurt and curry as well.

This weekend Laurie and Owen are tied up with various musical and technical theatrics and I find myself alone… just me and my chicken.  It helps that neither of them are partial to Thai cuisine.  As I type the coals are heating up.

Satay (from what I’ve researched) is grilled meat.  Yep.  Marinated, grilled meat.  Sign me up!  I zipped over to the search engines and found this recipe– http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/chicken-satay-with-peanut-sauce-recipe/index.html

I did read some other recipes that had lime in the marinade.  I like to add citrus to marinades when I can, especially when I’m doing what I refer to as a “short” marinade – I’m rushing it because I’m hungry!  I did add a little salt to this marinade as well, again to get the meat going.  Everything else I followed to the letter.  I didn’t skewer this batch, but I definitely would if I was doing a large batch.

Chicken Satay

Chicken Satay

THE RESULTS

The flavor of the chicken was really good though an overnight marinade would have made it better.  The peanut sauce was overly “peanutty”, it overwhelmed the chicken.  It was great with the apple though!  Very simple to do and delicious.  Don’t forget about satay this grilling season!  ~TH~

Leave a Reply

