Cast Iron Is… Cute?

Yesterday Laurie and I went to the grocery store together, this is what constitutes a “date” for us these days.  Stopping by the grilling area we came upon these 6 inch oval, cast iron skillets by Lodge.  Impossible to resist.

6 inch cast iron skillet

6 inch cast iron skillet

When we got home I cleaned and seasoned them immediately, then pressed two of them into service.  I had some left over ham and bean soup, some leftover pie crust and a bit of gruyere cheese.  I took the pie crust and pressed it into the seasoned skillet, then I par-baked the crusts at 375 degrees F.  Meanwhile I drained the liquid from the soup and prepped that as the filling, adding some herbs de provence to re-energize the flavor.  When the crusts were browned I allowed them to cool, then filled.  Finally I grated the last of the gruyere cheese on top, covered and refrigerated for the next day.

Ham and White Bean Tart with Gruyere Cheese

Ham and White Bean Tart with Gruyere Cheese

Baked at 400 degrees F for 25 minutes.  Turned out to be delicious!  ~TH~

4 thoughts on “Cast Iron Is… Cute?

    • Alison, I did go back and buy a few more. They’re well made and can be used for a lot of things, I’m sure you’ll see them popping up in more photos here. ~TH~

Leave a Reply

