Weekend Of Food And Fun – July 19, 2013

We just wrapped up a perfect summer weekend of food and fun.  On Friday we hosted a luncheon for good friends Tommy and Jessica.  I made grilled salmon and grilled rainbow trout.  I also made some Lavash Bread (more like a cracker than bread) to serve with Laurie’s outstanding salad.

Rainbow Trout and Salmon, hot off the grill

Rainbow Trout and Salmon, hot off the grill

Lavash Bread

Lavash Bread

 

On Sunday Laurie made a delicious Blueberry Bread from scratch and I took a stab at grilling a 3 pound prime rib roast.  It turned out fabulous, thanks in large part to some helpful tips from the meat cutters at Wegman’s.

blueberry bread

Homemade Blueberry Bread

Grilled Prime Rib

Grilled Prime Rib (after searing)

 

I’ll be putting this weekend into the culinary WIN column.  ~TH~

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekend Of Food And Fun – July 19, 2013

    • Hi Purabi –

      It was my first attempt at Lavash bread, I was looking for a bread that was quick to make (I had never heard of it either). I made the recipe from the book “Great Bread” by Bernice Hunt. A similar recipe can be found at this website — I only did one rise for my recipe. If you roll the dough thicker it will be soft like pita bread… no surprise there. I rolled mine thin so it came out crispy – a nice accompaniment to our salad.

      Thanks for reading, enjoy! ~Tom Hitt~ http://mideastfood.about.com/od/breadsrice/r/lavashrecipe.htm

Leave a Reply

