Salmon Dip Wraps, guilt and gluten free

7-24-13

Like many good things in the kitchen this recipe occurred because of missing ingredients, in this case bread.  I have mentioned before my affinity for eating fish in the morning, it’s gotta be some Scandinavian thing bubbling deep in my blood somewhere.  Since I’m the only one in our house that will go near nova style salmon or cream cheese I can sleep soundly, secure in the knowledge that no pilfering will occur during a late night fridge raid.

The classic presentation puts this all together with a toasted bagel.  In a pinch I’ve been known to just use toast (made from a good loaf please… Wonder Bread need not apply for this position).  Well… no bread.  Well… tough; I’m eating my fish, dammit.

You might assume by the title that I’m now on a gluten-free diet, but you would be wrong.  It just turned out that this recipe is indeed gluten-free.  I will say that I do pay close attention to the amount of bread and pasta I eat these days.  After all, I’ve read all of the… well most of the…  o.k., some of the literature out there that casts such foods out of the village with stones and pitchforks.  While I may be one of those angry villagers, in my heart I know I’ll miss them.  I get a little teary-eyed thinking about what our society has come to, shunning the staff of life.  What’s next, water?

So I now find myself in the enviable position of leaning on the shoulder of our mutual good friend Benjamin Franklin; in all things, moderation.  If I have pasta or bread one day I tend to not crave it the next.  It kind of regulates itself, at least when I’m paying attention to my body; and while all of this sounds like so much lofty self appreciation I remind you again, this recipe came about because there was no bread.  So we can all assume that if given the means and opportunity I would have greedily slunk into the corner of my hut to conspire with a contraband bagel.

The wilted greens for this recipe are collard greens from our CSA delivery last week.  When these daunting oversized leaves arrive in your delivery don’t panic.  Greens are your friend and they get along fabulously with fish.  Also keep in mind that I made this up on the fly, so feel free to use the recipe as a guide and make your own substitutions.  Hell, eat it on a bagel; your secret’s safe with me.

This recipe does not use any citrus because the greens and the greek yogurt provide plenty of pucker for the palate.

Salmon Dip Wraps, pre-fold

Salmon Dip Wraps, pre-fold

Salmon Dip Wraps, folded

Salmon Dip Wraps, folded

Salmon Dip Wrap
2 tbsp. cream cheese, softened
2 tbsp. plain greek yogurt
3 ounces nova style smoked salmon, chopped
1 tbsp. fresh chives
Old Bay seasoning
Fresh ground black pepper
2 large greens (collard greens or swiss chard), wilted
Combine all ingredients in a small bowl.  Lay out the greens and fold each leaf one time so that the size is manageable. Split the dip evenly onto the greens.  Wrap the leaves and turn them over so the folds are on the bottom.  Be sure to have a napkin handy before you dig in, you’ll need it.  Enjoy!  ~TH~
2 thoughts on “Salmon Dip Wraps, guilt and gluten free

    • Purabi,
      Thank you, I’m very pleased you’re enjoying my writing. Yes, fish is an unusual choice for breakfast and I’m not sure why.
      I enjoy reading your recipes as well. I’m looking for Pandan so I can try your ice cream recipe. 😊
      ~Tom~

Leave a Reply

