Green Olive Spread

My most recent doctor’s appointment finally shook me out of complacency regarding my eating habits.  I have spent many a year indulging myself willy-nilly with no regard to calories, fat and the like.  Well, that ends now.  I’m currently keeping judicious track of my daily calorie intake.  I’m also keeping an eye on what type of foods are providing those calories.

I won’t be using the words “on a diet” to describe what I’m doing.  Frankly, I always thought that was a ridiculous way to say that you’re becoming aware of what you eat and how you eat it.  After all, if you’re eating food daily – you’re on a diet.  If you’re not eating food daily you won’t be around long to start one.

The Counting Calories category will not change my blog entries.  Rest assured, I’ll still be making and sharing tasty foods here on the blog.  Some of the recipes will be positively chock-a-block with fat and calories.  The change will be that I’ll often share the calorie count with you – and when I do, that dish will be featured in the new category.   Heck, I’ll be counting the calories for myself anyway, I may as well share the information with you.

I am NOT going to start any discussions on the types of fats, carbohydrates, vegetables, raw foods, cooked foods or sugars that you should or should not be eating.  There are plenty of discussions, arguments,  blogs and books on those subjects.  For me it’s simply a matter of making some healthy changes in my life so I can live longer and keep my blog going well into the 24th century (I’m an optimist by nature).

FIRST RECIPE for the new category: a simple and robust cheese spread.  I made this spread very flavorful because I serve it on a bland (but tasty and healthy) medium- romaine lettuce leaves.  I just finished this little snack, it’s delicious.

Green Olive Spread

  • 1 oz. cream cheese, softened – 90 calories
  • 5 green olives, chopped – 25 calories
  • 1 tbsp. green onions, chopped – 5 calories
  • 1 tsp. spicy brown mustard – 5 calories
  • 1 squeeze of fresh lemon juice – 0 calories
  • 4 leaves romaine lettuce, washed – 10 calories
  • TOTAL CALORIES – 135

Combine all the spread ingredients and divide it amongst the lettuce.  I like to roll the leaves around the spread.  Don’t worry if it seems to be a small portion of spread for each leaf, this spread has a lot of flavor!  Make extra and keep in the fridge so it’s handy when you get the munchies.  Using lettuce instead of crackers or bread will really help keep the calorie count down.  Enjoy!  ~TH~

Leave a Reply

