The Love Affair Continues

So, after 2 full months of diligent “dieting”, I can honestly say that I’ve made the shift.  The mind shift.  The shift in how I relate to food, and equally important, how it relates to me.  I have my cravings under control. I have discovered how to KEEP my cravings under control. I now crave the good stuff.  I eat less of the good stuff and yet feel satisfied.   I eat the good stuff all the time.  I dislike the bad stuff. It tastes like crap, and it winds me down a path I’ve been down a hundred times, only to yearn for the path I’m now on.

But, tonight’s dinner really solidified my resolve and punctuated my perspective.  Yes, my love affair with cooking is intact.  I ad libbed one of the best meals I’ve made in a long time.  I shot from the hip and it was a bullseye.  And nothing makes me happier than serving nutritious food to my family that they eat voraciously, all the while making yummy sounds.

tarts bookIn the book ‘Tarts With Tops On’, Tamasin Day-Lewis writes “I had begun to feel that the words ‘quick’, ‘fast’, ‘easy’, and ‘simple’ had hijacked the culinary lexicon, and no one seemed willing to give people permission to get into the kitchen and actually enjoy the process of cooking.  Cooking had become something you did while you waited for real life to happen, whereas to people like me, the whole pleasure and purpose is an end to itself.”

I’m IN PROCESS.  With EVERYTHING.  So are you.

If you make good decisions each moment, you can trust the process.  It doesn’t have to be perfect;  just shoot for “better”.  A little bit.  You have a long row to hoe.  Do it well, you and your family deserve the best for yourselves.  No one else is going to do it for you.

I’d give you a hug, but frankly, I’m not much for hugging. ~TH~

2 thoughts on “The Love Affair Continues

  1. I like your quote of Day-Lewis. Surely, there are days when I need to get dinner on the table and there’s not all afternoon to play with – but when I do have the chance, the pleasure of preparation, thinking about the ingredients, transforming them – and drinking a little wine as we go – these are what make cooking a thing I love.

Leave a Reply

