Paleo – Not For Everybody

I just finished reading a great article by Winnie Abramson about how she took the plunge into a Paleo way of eating and it just didn’t work out for her.  I really enjoyed the article because it helped me rediscovered how easy it is to get wrapped up in something that dramatically improves your own life.  The knee-jerk reaction is that you want everyone to try it because you just know it’s the perfect solution for everyone.

This brought to mind my own misgivings about the Paleo/Primal way of approaching nutrition and diet.  At the moment it seems as though the majority of the media coverage on Paleo is full of young athletic people.  I have no problem with young athletic people, I just don’t happen to be one.  I came to the Paleo lifestyle as an out-of-shape, crap-eating, shall we say “mature” guy.  Once I realized that my habitual way of eating and (not) moving were going to slide me down the pharmaceutical laced, poor health spiral that many americans experience, I decided to make some dramatic changes.  I chose Primal/Paleo and it’s working for me.  I’m happier now than I’ve ever been in my life.

It sounds like Winnie Abramson is healthy and happy too.  Excellent.  That’s the way it’s supposed to be.  A good friend of mine recently reminded me how important it is to be mindful in all that you do, to be present in the moment.  When you nurture that way of thinking for yourself great things begin to happen.

If you’re unhappy with your diet, start writing down everything you eat in a journal.  It will force you to become more mindful of why you’re unhappy and it will motivate you to fix the problem areas.  Then you’ll be better prepared to take the next step toward making your entire life a pleasure.  ~TH~

Leave a Reply

